About me

KellySkiNorwayA full-time freelancer, I'm a Contributing Editor for Backpacker and Vail/Beaver Creek magazines, and a Contributing Writer for 5280: The Denver Magazine. Two of my feature profiles for Vail/Beaver Creek became finalists for Maggie awards in 2014 and 2016; other articles have appeared in Departures, Red Bulletin, Sunset, Runner´s World, Travel + Leisure, AFAR, Via, Big Life, Bicycling, SKI, GearInstitute.com, Field & Stream, Running Times, National Parks, National Geographic Traveler, The Guardian (London), The New York Times, OnTheSnow.com, Outside, Expedition Portal, Travel Age West, Mountain, Los Angeles Magazine, Fly Fisherman, Outdoor Retailer Daily, SNEWS, The Voice, Aspen Sojourner, Global Traveler, Canoe & Kayak, Cabin Living, SELF, Women's Health, O: The Oprah Magazine, Furthermore from Equinox, Inspirato, WomensMovement.com, Skiing, Four Seasons Magazine, Hemispheres, Bike, Epic Life, Headwaters, Colorado Meetings and Events, Parks and Recreation, Steamboat Magazine, and others. Writing remains my core strength, but I can also shoot accompanying photo elements that transform text into multi-media packages.

Prior to freelancing full-time, I worked as Curator for the Tread of Pioneers, a museum documenting the pioneer and ski history of Steamboat Springs. For seven years I taught English at boarding and private schools in Cleveland, Ohio and Denver, Colorado; while in Denver, I also worked at the Denver Art Museum, teaching visitors about various phases of American and world art.

I’ve traveled extensively, sometimes for work (which has taken me to fascinating corners of the globe) but just as often for the sheer pleasure of notching life-list trips. I’ve studied Andean weaving in Bolivia, completed my master´s degree in Oxford, England, and picked grapes in France (I once spoke French fluently, and can still me débrouille when I need to). In 2003 I thru-hiked from Georgia to New Jersey on the Appalachian Trail. 

Most days, I’m exploring my backyard. Living in Steamboat Springs, Colorado, I enjoy backcountry and resort skiing, mountain biking, hiking, backpacking, fly-fishing and yoga--often in the company of my nine-year-old daughter, Simone. I received my B.A. in English and French from Hiram College and an M.A. in English from Middlebury College (Bread Loaf).